Damaging Temps?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I guess I'm sorry that Michael Hagedorn disagrees in his book about unheated hoop houses in Japan. I live in Va. in a completely different climate with completely different conditions and tree species. I have been overwintering bonsai for a very long time. What I do works and works well.
Sorry, I didn't explain my point very well. I wasn't saying to change how you overwinter, just that temperatures around freezing aren't more dangerous than keeping the plant solidly frozen.

Now that more advanced temperature monitoring is cheap and easy for anyone to purchase I've been surprised at what temperatures my trees actually experience in winter storage. I've been navigating overwintering in Wisconsin since 2000, mostly living at rentals without garages so now that I own a house finally I'm trying to refine and keep the process a little more polar-vortex proof.

My greenhouse fluctuates temperatures wildly throughout the day and it stressed me out so much last year to watch the swings. I only lost one trident maple sapling and I assume it was from the greenhouse getting down to 11°F when the heater couldn't keep up during a -10°F day.

These are the temperatures in that greenhouse (just using it for winter sowing this year so no heater and the auto vent is broken) with max temperatures being 96°F and min being 16°F. It only gets about two hours of partial sun a day. Not even full sun.
Screenshot_20231203_113634_SensorPush.jpg

I just got the sensor set up for my shed on Friday so I don't have much data yet. The cedar shed is much easier to keep a stable temperature already even with the greenhouse panels on the east side of the roof, but the heater is not strong enough to handle the really cold days in such a large space.