Shimpaku Juniper - styling thoughts?

WyldStallyn

Seedling
Reaction score
image.jpeg image.jpeg

Picked this tree up for $60 on a Facebook auction. Trunk is a bit straight for my liking but I thought it was a good deal and something I could work on.

Now, the problem is I have a TERRIBLE time looking at raw stock like this and seeing a potential bonsai inside. Any ideas from you folks?

Attachments

• image.jpeg
    image.jpeg
    446.5 KB · Views: 109

Nemoose

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
Well I'm a noob lol. But, I think I would lose one of the branches on the right. Probably the lower one. I would then make the larger branch to the left and back as the trunk. Maybe plant it deeper for awhile to get higher root growth and then prune off the bottom part of trunk to eliminate some of the straight part.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
If it wasn't recently repotted....

I would just wire the whole thing and start creating a tree with it all...

By the time you are finished....
You will find a direction.

It looks like most of the thick branches can come off on time....

Leaving you with the one gently moving center trunk....

The foilage may be high....
But after while I think that could be dope.

Sorce

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Or layer the thick branches and make a forest.

Sorce

DougB

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8A
Or perhaps just live with it and let it speak to you. Patience has its place.

drew33998

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
One of the two trunks on the left or right. The middle seems to lack character.

drew33998

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8-9
Or let it go for a couple more seasons and have an even better base.

Vance Wood

Lord Mugo
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5-6