“OFF again ON again” Crataegus

Random Usr

Chumono
Reaction score
I've been growing a Crataegus yamadori for about 4 years now. The first year I had neither blumes nor haws. As the years progress it's been getting more of both. Last year is was awash with blumes and haws! Magnificent! This year I got only a few blumes and only 4 haws. Is this normal for Crataegus or is it time for some maintenance? I have never re-potted it …. even once. Maybe it is time?
trowel2.gif

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
... crickets ...

I know that there must be blooms to have berries. The blooms must be pollinated for haws to develop, so the things that affect pollination = a variable.

I have lots of azaleas and rhododendrons in pots and in the landscape. I note that they bloom heavily some years and not so much in others. I am unable to account for why and have yet to find out why.

Flowers are modified apical meristems (growing tips at the end of branches). Once things have happened to allow the process to proceed (reaching 'adulthood') certain other variables drive the metamorphosis into flowers. I do know that the auxin produced by the set leaves immediately below the bud are integral in the process in azaleas and rhodies. Remove these leaves and flowers will not develop; equivalently, prune too late. But leave all this and flowers don't necessarily develop - dunno why; would love to understand what to do to get more flowers. Some factors of like-kind (whatever they are) must affect all angiosperm flowering.

growing a Crataegus yamadori for about 4 years now ... is it time for some maintenance? I have never re-potted it …. even once. Maybe it is time?
I'd say probably so, but don't know that there is a relationship to flowering. On the other hand, if it is still growing robustly, maybe not.

Last edited:

Alain

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
... crickets ...