17 year old jade, never been shaped

Kjr928

Seedling
Reaction score
image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg I have a jade in a pot I've been growing since 1999. I have never shaped it beyond cutting off long drooping branches or trying to make it a little less top heavy.

So it's not really a good looking plant, and I'd like to shape it and have it fill in nicer. I'm afraid to start cutting away though since I don't know what kind of technique is involved in this and I don't want to ruin it.

Can anyone give me suggestions or advice? I'm attaching a few pics. Thanks!

eferguson1974

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
They backbud after pruning. That gives you tighter, closer, fuller foliage. Remember to plant the cuttings after a few days drying. Even leaves can grow new plants. Maybe someone else can help with styling. Hope that helps.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome to Crazy!

Sorce

Kjr928

Seedling
Reaction score
They backbud after pruning. That gives you tighter, closer, fuller foliage. Remember to plant the cuttings after a few days drying. Even leaves can grow new plants. Maybe someone else can help with styling. Hope that helps.
Thanks! If you had any idea how many "babies" I'm getting rid of from this thing! I did prune a whole lot off about a month ago, and I'm getting a lot of new little leaves. I'm just not sure which big "branches" I should remove to improve the look of it. I feel like there are too many big limbs and it's cluttered up in the middle.

hemmy

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
View attachment 109914 View attachment 109915 View attachment 109916 I have a jade in a pot I've been growing since 1999. I have never shaped it beyond cutting off long drooping branches or trying to make it a little less top heavy.