18" glazed rectangle/oval

pwk5017

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6/7
Looking to acquire a glazed rectangle/oval pot for a big twin trunk japanese maple. I am not fixed on a particular color, light blue/cream probably, but more importantly, i cannot seem to find ANYTHING. My budget is about $150-200, and I was hoping to get a tokoname with decent patina. If you have experience with finding matches for your trees, where do you start? I have been trolling ebay for 6 months now and havent found anything suitable. It seems like 18"+ pots are rare. I am grateful for any help.

Patrick

p.s. is there really not a major importer of good quality pots in the US? You would think there is enough of a market to sustain one bulk importer.

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
...My budget is about $150-200, and I was hoping to get a tokoname with decent patina. .... It seems like 18"+ pots are rare. I am grateful for any help.

BTW, there is a reason you cannot find what you are looking for. Glazed 18" Tokoname pot w/ patina will cost a lot more than $200.00. Sorry.

davetree

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
You're asking a lot for your budget. Good luck finding anything decent for under 200 that is 18 inches. Maybe used.

amkhalid

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
BTW, there is a reason you cannot find what you are looking for. Glazed 18" Tokoname pot w/ patina will cost a lot more than $200.00. Sorry.

Yup.

pwk, what you are looking for is something that appeals to a very niche market in North America. If an aged pot is really important to you, your best bet would be to contact Peter Tea or Matt Ouwinga, but expect to pay MUCH more that your budget.

Even a brand new glazed rectangle by a good tokoname brand will run you way over $200 unless you are buying from a friend. 18" is a big pot.

thams

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
For some price reference check here...

http://japanesebonsaipots.net/for-sale/