1st Cascade styling effort

mak9

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hi all, I liked the potential I saw in this tree at the nursery but I lack experience. Living in this zone, I'm not sure of timing for trimming, styling and repotting and I thought it best I ask for help before... stop me before I assault another tree!!! start with the foolish mistakes. šŸ¤”

Branch #2 splits and climbs and I'm not sure what to do with it. Branch #1 needs to be pulled down but I don't know how close to the 1st bend I need to start the downward sweep - or how much the branch can take (it's winter - 28 degrees F at night and 18% humidity.)

I'm a rank beginner with no tools or wire even - are there best sources for both? (or at least a few places I'd do better to avoid buying from?)

Here's the tree. Let me know if you need more info and thanks so much in advance.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Perfect, well almost perfect. The trunk leaves the soil slanted to the right, for a classic cascade the cascading branch should come off the right side of the trunk and cascade down.

However you can use that left branch, I probably would. It will create some tension with it's movement contradicting the initial movement of the trunk.

mak9

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
Hi Leo - thanks! Issue for me is the left branch (#2, going up/left) splits. Better if I could get some trimming done first. Not sure about keeping the front of the two where it splits but I need to offer a clearer shot to get help with it.