JamesBondsai

Seedling
Reaction score
Please help ☺️

Hello all, I'm very new to the world of Bonsai and have been growing a Pinus Mugo Pumilio from the seed. I've got a 1yr old seedling and I'm looking for guidance.
(I'm located in Southern England, for seasonal reference).

I planted it towards the end of Autumn 2020
and simulated winter, indoors via the use of
my fridge so the seed could germinate for the better part of the Winter season.

After taking it out and giving it a drop of water every two days during spring, it began to sprout to my surprise!

(I actually had two of these growing, one died due to overwatering/roots had damp rot I believe).

It's now mid December and I've just repotted and ever so slightly trimmed back the roots, whilst breaking down some of the clumpy soil so the water would drain better.

I feel I've definitely missed a few steps, i/e - decandling, or cutting the bud back or whatever, but as I'm new to this I'm not really sure.. and even more so not sure what my next steps should be.

As you can see in the photos below, it's wet (won't water it for a while now I reckon, and some of the needles have died/turned brown.

It's usually kept on a South facing windowsill, with part of the windowframe blocking it so it's not under direct sunlight for the entirety of the day. (Not kept on the living room floor haha).

May I please get some advise on next steps, as I'd love to keep this Bonsai healthy and help it grow.

(Edit: the wooden stick I've put in to support it for the first year or so. Also, it had a few slow release fertiliser pellets in the soil, and I use a small amount of miraclegrow in a water spray bottle to give it the odd spray here and there. + Sharpie pen for size reference).

Many thanks,

JamesBondsai (Harry)

Attachments

• DSC_1624.JPG
    DSC_1624.JPG
    106.3 KB · Views: 18
  • DSC_1624.JPG
    DSC_1624.JPG
    106.3 KB · Views: 19
  • DSC_1622.JPG
    DSC_1622.JPG
    108.7 KB · Views: 17
  • DSC_1623.JPG