2 junipers 1 pot

SouthernMaple

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
So I went down to Atlanta for xmas and on my return trip I went by Plant City and picked up a precombens juniper, you can sort of see two different trees coming out of the same root ball, Can I seperate these two or should I keep them intact? What are yalls thoughts and I am new to Junipers so any advice would be great.SMR_2903.JPG

SMR_2901.JPG

Kanorin

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Use your fingers to dig a little into the soil to see if they are connected at the base below the soil line.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Chances are pretty high that they are either the second trees is a branch from the trunk of the first. Even if they are separate, pulling them apart would severely damage the root systems of both if the second has its own roots. If you did not want the "second tree", cut it off at just below soil level, you will kill the second one, but the first is nice. Tearing apart the two would likely severely damage both, possibly killing both.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Yeah, if it comes loose easy at Repot, Maybe just toss it.
I wouldn't want to sacrifice the other for it, not even the bench space and time.

Sorce

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
ASt the next repot, look at the second, smaller tree and descide how it is connected. Chances are that even if it is connected, the burried part may have its own roots. I would gently try to get a few small roots out, and trim them as long as possible. Then separate from the parent. Pot up and treat as a large cutting.

As indicated above, it will be unlikely you can fully teae the roots apart without lots of damage. Better to keep the main plant mostly undisturbed. With root stubs already connected, I am positive a "large cutting" has a good chance.

Of course, making a decent Yin out of is a plan too!