40% sand, 40% potting mix, 20% peat moss???

LouisianaNative

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8B
So the title says it all, there was a local guy at a trade show recently with a booth selling bonsai trees of various sizes. With your purchase, you get a "how to take care of your bonsai" packet and it had the soil mix listed as 40% sand, 40% potting mix, and 20% peat moss. I'm a beginner at all of this, but isn't this a bit dense? These are all junipers. My wife bought one of the smaller ones and so far you can go a good 2 days without watering it. It's still damp. On a positive note, he does guarantee his trees, if it dies, bring back the container and he will replace. (He has unique wood containers handmade from cedar) Should I re-pot this tree in a better mix with more drainage?

Thanks,

Mark

chansen

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
So the title says it all, there was a local guy at a trade show recently with a booth selling bonsai trees of various sizes. With your purchase, you get a "how to take care of your bonsai" packet and it had the soil mix listed as 40% sand, 40% potting mix, and 20% peat moss. I'm a beginner at all of this, but isn't this a bit dense? These are all junipers. My wife bought one of the smaller ones and so far you can go a good 2 days without watering it. It's still damp. On a positive note, he does guarantee his trees, if it dies, bring back the container and he will replace. (He has unique wood containers handmade from cedar) Should I re-pot this tree in a better mix with more drainage?

Thanks,

Mark

Yes, but not now. Repotting is a late winter/early spring activity done with the tree is dormant.

jriddell88

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6B