Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b

Balbs

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Nice. Have you found a trick to combat the die back ?
I’ve been messing around with Ninebark for a few years. Each year the branches I want to keep, die back.
Then I get new growth elsewhere. Often times they sucker out. 🤨
Last year I just let it grow. Some branches died back, some didn’t. Doesn’t seem to be any consistency. Some fine stuff died back, some didn’t. I haven’t had a lot of suckers, maybe one or two. Do you prune in the fall?

Eckhoffw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
4b
Last year I just let it grow. Some branches died back, some didn’t. Doesn’t seem to be any consistency. Some fine stuff died back, some didn’t. I haven’t had a lot of suckers, maybe one or two. Do you prune in the fall?
I try not to prune these too much ever! 🤣. I also seem to scorch them a lot, so I’m trying dappled sun/shade spots this year.
Good luck on yours, it’s looking good!

UnmovedMover

Seedling
Reaction score
Do you anticipate backbudding on the big cut? I have small forest of overgrown Ninebark that I can mess around with but most have long sections without leaves and flowers (most of these are 6-12 feet in height). I think to collect a larger trunk from this group would require an aggressive trunk chop. I'd love any insight on how these react to pruning and potting. What soil mix are you using?

Cheers!

Balbs

Shohin
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6A
Do you anticipate backbudding on the big cut? I have small forest of overgrown Ninebark that I can mess around with but most have long sections without leaves and flowers (most of these are 6-12 feet in height). I think to collect a larger trunk from this group would require an aggressive trunk chop. I'd love any insight on how these react to pruning and potting. What soil mix are you using?

Cheers!