$57 big boy, didnt have a label...ID?

Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Hi all,

Snagged this at big box, sweet talked the plant team out back and they were happy to see it go. Originally $200! I feel like it's a spruce, but it doesn't have the rounder shapes I'm used to seeing. I'm no pro, any ideas on species ID? Would you have bought it? I think 25+ gallon pot.
20220813_150956.jpg
20220813_151005.jpg20220813_151028.jpg20220813_151055.jpg

Cj

Frozentreehugger

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I would have definitely definitely got it . Looks spruce all the way to me . Possible a fir . Considering it’s weeping habit instead of typical spear like growth . Most likely a dwarf or specialty cultivar . Making it even slower growing . Add its size and it’s a steal . If I have to take a shot I’m going with Picea abies Norway spruce cultivar

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
I would have definitely definitely got it . Looks spruce all the way to me . Possible a fir . Considering it’s weeping habit instead of typical spear like growth . Most likely a dwarf or specialty cultivar . Making it even slower growing . Add its size and it’s a steal . If I have to take a shot I’m going with Picea abies Norway spruce cultivar
Spruce and firs can sometimes be easy to confuse. I use the simple reminder of "FIRS" = "FLAT".

Firs have flat needles. You can't roll them between your fingertips. They are directly attached to the branch with a base that looks like a suction cup.

Spruce have thick, rounded or square needles. You can easily roll them between your fingertips. They are attached to the branch with small woody stem that looks like a little stalk.

Hemlocks look similar to firs, but the needles on the same branch will have many different lengths.

Last edited:
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Spruce and firs can sometimes be easy to confuse. I use the simple reminder of "FIRS" = "FLAT".