5yr Native Tree Challenge #10 Forsoothe! Dwarf Rose 'Oso Easy' #3

Katie0317

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
Abandoned as unmanageable as bonsai.
I've been growing roses pretty much all my life and I never thought one could be turned into a bonsai. Have you ever seen one? Good for you on giving it a shot though. I would have loved to have seen it.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I've been growing roses for 50 years and should've known better. But I thought that maybe the miniatures could work because of shorter internodes. I thought, what the hell, if I can just make it covered with flowers, sort of like an Azalea or Bougie, that would look nice. They are more like a porcupine in more than one way. The branches won't go horizontal and stick out at every angle, and while the base can get fat, it wouldn't be confused with a trunk, so it only makes a broom, but without the handle! There is one more that is more well behaved, a miniature Knockout 'Meet Petite' that I didn't include in the contest line-up because I thought the other 3 were better prospects. I haven't done anything with it, but it is more compact than the others including better blooming, so maybe, just maybe...

Katie0317

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9B
I hope you'll give it a chance. I've seen some very mini roses over time but haven't fooled with them much. Yours don't look nearly as small as a a half dozen minis I mail ordered years ago. They were well formed but truly miniature. They were in 4 inch pots and full of blooms,

I get the challenge though. How do they respond to being wired? I imagine them springing back but I have no idea. Good luck...Hoping you can make it happen.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b