5yr Native Tree Challenge: ShadyStump's

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Welp, there goes another one. Made a fistful of blossoms and then dried up and died. Read in another thread that this is common with late winter cuttings. Guess I'll just go dig one up then. Learned allot, though.

Forsoothe!

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I'm not an expert in this subject, but you know me. Flowers take a lot out of the Lady. No flowers should be allowed when trying to root cuttings. Next, the cutting should be small enough to and leaf out maybe 2, 3, 4 max leaves, and therefore pretty short, too. The roots have to support the whole, and if the roots that form can't support the whole, then everything dies. The whole has to be really small. Even when a pro like @cmeg1 who starts them in his high-tec hydroponic bath with super lights and spray system, they are very small. You need to look at his postings and steal some of them good ideas.

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I'm not an expert in this subject, but you know me. Flowers take a lot out of the Lady. No flowers should be allowed when trying to root cuttings. Next, the cutting should be small enough to and leaf out maybe 2, 3, 4 max leaves, and therefore pretty short, too. The roots have to support the whole, and if the roots that form can't support the whole, then everything dies. The whole has to be really small. Even when a pro like @cmeg1 who starts them in his high-tec hydroponic bath with super lights and spray system, they are very small. You need to look at his postings and steal some of them good ideas.