8 year old lemon tree is struggling

Reaction score
Hello Everyone

I'm looking for some advice on keeping my meyer lemon tree alive. It's roughly 8 years old but I've only had it for around a month and a half. I'm new to bonsai and admittedly don't know what I'm doing, which isn't helping anything. When I got it the leaves were all green, but now many of them are turning yellow and falling off. Since I've had the tree it's lost at least 15 leaves which certainly isn't ideal.

Since this is my first bonsai tree I'm using the moisture meter you can see in the pictures below to help give me an idea of when to water it. I have the tree at work and have been told by some coworkers that I'm not watering it enough, some that I'm watering it too much, so I'm not sure - all I do is try to keep the moisture meter gauge in the green. Every now and then I'll mist the leaves, but I'm also not sure how often I should be doing that.

Not sure if this is applicable but a week or two after I got the lemon tree it seemed to have some type of fungus and small holes started appearing in some of the leaves. After using some 'Bonide Copper Fungicide (liquid)' that seemed to get rid of whatever that issue was. I also bought some 'Dyna-Gro Bonsai-Pro Liquid Plant Food' and I've been using that with the water but did have a coworker suggest that I may be 'over-watering' the tree.

Please see pictures below:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

Long story short, I'd appreciate any suggestions in helping keep this tree alive :) I did notice yesterday that the tree has little buds in a few different spots.

Reaction score
Unfortunately, I live in a high-rise apartment so I can't really leave it outside. The main reason I have it at work is that my cat likes to pick at plants and eat leaves off of it.

I'm located in Philadelphia, PA.

AZbonsai

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Expect a long drawn out death if you can not put it outside. Tough tree to grow in philly.

sorce

Nonsense Rascal