911, Pine rescue, warning graphic content.

Reaction score
North Auckland (whangaparaoa), New Zealand
USDA Zone
10b
I found this pine (to be indentified) it's half (or more?) Dead. It was bought as a Christmas tree and left through summer no water. First thing I did was soak it in a tub of water. My plan is to remove it from the nursery bucket and build a training box for it. I have no experience with pines so any help is welcome. Thank you

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b
Brace yourself, hold on to something, or sit down. I'm afraid this is a deceased pine. Kindling, or compost.

Go ahead and keep it watered. Don't repot, disturbing what is left of the roots now will just guarantee death. There is faint hope it will green up. If it does recover, then we can work on identifying it. If turgor returns to the green needles, and it looks like it is beginning to recover, it will still be 6 months or more before we can be sure the tree is ''out of danger''. Only after the tree is stabilized, will it be time to repot. When you to repot, do a ''half bare root''. In other words, leave about one half the root ball undisturbed. Pines really dislike root disturbance, especially if they are weak as this one is. Keep it in shade until the needles absorb water and become stiff again., until they stand back up a little. Then move it to at least half sun. It will need sun to recover long term. When it starts to put out new growth, back in full sun, sunrise to sunset sun.