A dark and hazy path

Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
I took an interest in bonsai trees early last year and I'm still interested now, although I'm starting to feel like it might not ne for me .
So far I have killed 1 tree , 1 satsuki azalea and 1 more azalea from the garden centre . I've had a close shave with one maple and I've bought one that came home with black tar spot and a huge graft site which ended up going back to the place I bought it from .
I've almost killed off a Chinese elm which got fried in my greenhouse and it dropped every single leaf but somehow bounced back. I still don't know what makes good pre bonsai material when I'm at the garden centre . Bonsai is so expensive and I don't know what's good value or not because people in UK have a habit of putting sticks in pots and trying to sell as bonsai for a lot of money .

I tried to be thorough through all of this , I done my research on old threads , I read , I re-read and I studied hard the advice people have given me on various sites and still I made mistakes that have cost me plants and time .

I'm not really a Gardner, I've grew a few annuals , tried my hand at chilis /strawberries. All with reasonable success , but definitely not a seasoned grower . More just sticking compost in a pot or digging a hole and throwing a few flowers in . I feel like this year with a lot of research to bonsai it has helped me with my garden plants , it's helped me to keep trees alive but I feel like I'm failing at the whole bonsai styling and knowing what to do or even where to start .

So anyway the point which I'm getting to is that although I try very hard to be better , I really struggle to understand what people are talking about on older threads and even advice given to me in threads I've started .
So for all the newbies and experienced bonsai folk .

Did you have a good understanding of gardening and growing trees / plants etc before starting bonsai?