Absolute Beginner *Chinese Elm*

sticky_paws

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi wonderful knowledgeable fellow bonsai enthusiasts!! I have jumped in to the world of indoor bonsai with both feet and bought myself a beautiful Chinese Elm approx 10 years old.

i’m an absolute beginner in the UK and would appreciate all the help & advice I can get please.

So far Yoshi, (yes I’ve named it!), is sat on my south facing kitchen windowsill on some gravel on a humidity tray filled with a little water.

What care / maintenance do Chinese Elms need?

I have no tools, what essentials should I get?

Watering - am I ok to submerge once a week for 30 minutes, leave to drain and pop back on the tray? I’m not exceptionally good at remembering to water.

Feeding - I have some BioGold and have been told to place a pellet and inch apart all the way round once a month. Is this correct? I also have some drip feeder food.

Moss - for aesthetics I’d like to add some moss; is this advisable and if so which moss and how please?

If you’ve made it this far THANK YOU for reading, basically how is the easiest way to care for my little Yoshi please?

TomB

Omono
Reaction score
Put it outside in your garden (most important step).
Water when it gets dry, not on a schedule. At the moment it probably will be daily.
Water from the top, not by submersion.
Biogold will be fine, keep using it until about october. Don’t use the drip things.
Look for chinese elm care info on the bonsai4me website (UK oriented care information)
Right now the only tool you need is scissors.
Moss is usually just used for exhibitions.
Get hold of an introductory book, such as ‘Bonsai’ by Peter Warren.
For the first year, just learn to look after it.
Protect from the cold when temps get below -5c.
Worry about repotting next April.

sticky_paws

Seedling
Reaction score
Thank you!!!! Just a few questions if I may please ….

It was bought as an indoor bonsai am I ok to pop it outside?