Acacia Erubescens (Blouhaak) wiring and pruning advice.

abNormal_ZA

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my first post. This is my first time bonsaiing and I would appreciate any and all advice with regards to wiring technique and pruning that can be done to my tree.

The small one is an Acacia Erubescens and I BELIEVE the bigger one is a Black Monkey Thorn or Acacia Burkei. I repotted them into bonsai mixture last night and wired them with 4mm copper wire today. I also pruned the Burkei a week ago. I don't know how old the Burkei is but my Erubescens is about 10 years old according to the information card that came with it when I bought it.

Any comments and critique of my technique will be appreciated as it will help me learn and grow! :) Acacia Burkei.jpg Acacia Erubescens.jpg

Attachments

• Erubescens Wiring.jpg
    Erubescens Wiring.jpg
    250.8 KB · Views: 16

Geo

Chumono
Reaction score
Todos Santos,Baja Sur Elev56M 23.46N 110.24W
USDA Zone
11+
https://www.flickr.com/photos/oom_piet/4977451060/in/photostream/

This is an Acacia erubescens by Mr. Piet Grobler on Flickr. Notice the funky exposed roots:like yours but managed more in the long run.Many Acacias are trained in a more "naturalistic" style. Here is one that is perhaps a model-Acacia erubescens:

Acacia erioloba4.jpg

You seem to be after a more informal upright configuration. Please fill in your location in your profile.It is really helpful for others who might want to give detailed advice. And a warm welcome to BNut,the most populated bonsai forum around(lots more posts than most,at any rate.)

abNormal_ZA

Seedling
Reaction score
Hey Geo, thanks for replying :) I've filled in my location details.