Acer Palmatum Air Layer

Reaction score
This yard tree had 5 branches coming out of the same spot on the trunk and one branch has already broken off. The arrow below points to a branch that I need to remove because 1) it hits the trunk at the same weak spot, and 2) it is extend too far and taking energy away from where I'd prefer growth. Instead of just cutting it I'm planning to attempt an air layer. I know that they don't take well with this type of tree but nothing ventured nothing gained. Couple of questions:
  1. Looking at picture 2 and noting how most of the growth goes one direction where would you recommend placing the air layer?
  2. When would be the best time to try the air layer?
  3. Bonus question: can I clean up old cuts on the garden tree with concave cutters or a Dremel? And if so how long do I have to wait?
I'm NOT trying to make the remaining tree into a bonsai style as it has too many flaws and it is a grafted tree anyway. This is my first year trying to do any work with maples as I mainly cut my teeth on junipers.

IMG_0407.jpgIMG_0408.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_0407.jpg
    IMG_0407.jpg
    456.6 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_0408.jpg
    IMG_0408.jpg
    467.3 KB · Views: 22

dbonsaiw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
Is this a laceleaf? If so, it may not airlayer. Assuming it is even possible to layer this cultivar, you could layer the branch at whatever point you want the new tree. I assume the foliage is simply growing towards the sun, so once the branch is layered and repotted more straight upwards, other buds should pop. If I don't get buds where I want, I would graft. I also don't see a graft on the tree.

Topdec

Yamadori
Reaction score
Only a Newby to the hobby but I don't see a promising tree even if the airlayer works off that main branch, if you're just using it for the practice/experience couldn't you try multiple airlayers of the smaller branches coming off that big 1!

Reaction score