Rivian

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello everyone,
the edges of the new shoots of my Sangokaku, Bi-Hoo and Deshojo japanese maples are turning black and I dont know why. I dont think they will mature properly, if I do nothing theyll probably just die. Maybe it looks like Im overreacting to you, but I just had to burn my largest JM because it was heavily diseased, though I never figured out what it was, perhaps multiple issues.
This is my first year with JM and I want to figure this out quickly so I dont spread diseases further and they can be fully healthy next year. I dont want to just get rid of the sick shoots, I guess Im looking for a fitting fungicide

Attachments

• 20200722_161639.jpg
    20200722_161639.jpg
    140.3 KB · Views: 92
  • 20200722_161609.jpg
    20200722_161609.jpg
    106.2 KB · Views: 90
  • 20200722_161407.jpg
    20200722_161407.jpg
    113.8 KB · Views: 88
  • 20200722_161142.jpg
    20200722_161142.jpg
    141.5 KB · Views: 91
  • 20200722_161056.jpg
    20200722_161056.jpg
    146 KB · Views: 86

parhamr

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
This is a pretty common fungal infection that folks see during warmer weather. I’m not sure of its name. I don’t think this really spreads or gets worse, when I’ve seen it.

It tends to clear up with a systemic and it can be safeguarded with twice-yearly sprays of a prophylactic knock-down of the fungal spores. Thiomyl, Cleary’s 3336, and Mancozeb all tend to treat this infection well — read the label instructions for ornamental application.

Sulfur- and copper-based antifungal sprays are useful to kill active fungal spores.

HorseloverFat

Squarepants with Conkers
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5a
This is a pretty common fungal infection that folks see during warmer weather. I’m not sure of its name. I don’t think this really spreads or gets worse, when I’ve seen it.