Acer Palmatum Koto No Ito (Japanese Maple Harp String)

Jordon Bigelow

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello,
I am new to bonsai but have been reading quite a lot of information about it. I was wondering if anybody knows much about this species. What are the basic care guidelines for this tree? What kind of conditions should it be in? I live in an apartment with a small deck the faces the west. I get sunlight there (as of this current season) around 12:30 to about 4:30. Is this too much direct sun for a Japanese Maple? As you can see in the picture, it is a little barren. When I got it home, I did some maintenance pruning. I cut off a lot of dead twigs and did some basic pruning to help growth. I am hoping that this was ok to do this early in the season. It is May 30th as of this writing. I am awaiting my tools to be delivered. I purchased a nice set of tools from Tian Bonsai (I believe Chinese made but high quality with good reviews.) So I didn't do any major pruning, and I haven't looked at the roots yet.
One of my main questions is, how can I thicken this trunk without having to plant it in the ground? I live in an apartment so I can't really do that. Does this tree look healthy? I think it is a little scrappy looking but I am hoping to get some new growth closer in since I cleared up a lot of clutter in the branches. Also how big of a bonsai pot should I get? Or should I hold off on that until I am happy with my trunk size? The trunk size right now is around 2-2.5" in diameter. I know I will make mistakes, but I want to try and prevent the major ones from happening that would spell death for my tree. Any general tips for beginning would be appreciated. I have read about sacrificial branches. Do you essentially leave a branch un-pruned and untouched grow down low to thicken the trunk? Sorry I know it is a lot of questions. Any help is welcomed.

Thank you in advance.

japanese maple koto no ito.jpg

makarovnik

Mame
Reaction score