Acer Palmatum Seedling for a New Bonsai Enthusiast

Boise_Guy

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
I am new to bonsai and one of my first projects is an Acer Palmatum that I germinated from seed. Its still quite small, with only 2 leaves (one of which is smallish), and it isn't growing very fast at all, with almost no visible progress in the last couple weeks. My concern is that it is nearing September and I'm worried this little guy won't survive his first winter (I have no idea if this concern is justified or not mind you).

I have never wintered any bonsai yet as I've only just gotten into it in the last 3 months or so. I am in Boise, ID and have been keeping the seedling inside by a south facing window that mostly receives indirect light. Its been so hot here (near 100 F) that I've been hesitant to put it outside and it is so fragile I worried about wind.

My biggest question is how to best winter this small seedling...and actually I was wondering if I could "skip" this first winter and just keep it inside with a growing light over the winter instead? If I do need to winter it, I have a closed garage with a west facing window as an option...

Also any other advice would be helpful. I'm thoroughly watering it once every day or two, fertilizing every 14 days or so with low-med-med types of fertilizer.

Attachments

• 20150806_182110.jpg
    20150806_182110.jpg
    151.4 KB · Views: 45
  • 20150806_182106.jpg
    20150806_182106.jpg
    184 KB · Views: 42

Cypress187

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
It will be a beautiful bonsai in about 30 years, welcome to the forum.

Edit: I thought for growing you need high-low-low.

Last edited:

Alain

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I don't know much about acer palmatum babies but normally maples need a dormancy.