Acquired 2 new trees...now what?!

Huggz13

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a
The extension service in my area gave away some native trees today. I have zero experience with bonsai and thought it would be cool to start my journey with some native species.

I wanted Red Maple (Acer rubrum) but they went quick so I got a Pond Cypress (Taxodium ascendens) and a Dahoon Holly (Ilex cassine).

They are in nursery pots.
They are both 36” tall.
See attached pic.

I live in NW Florida right near the Alabama state line, so it’s never really winter per se and we usually start to see new growth in February early March. Right now it’s mid to upper 70’s one week and 50’s the next. We will have a few more nights in mid to upper 30’s scattered about over the next month but we shouldn’t get any freezing temps.

My question is what do I do with these trees right now?
Cut them way back? If so how far?
Wire them?
Get them in training pots?
Nothing? If not now, then when?

I know you all get the same old noobie questions constantly but I’m suffering from analysis paralysis. I’ve watched countless videos and they all have trees at different stages in development so at this point it’s all just word soup

If these were trees or shrubs in my yard, I wouldn’t hesitate to cut them back hard right now before new growth occurs.
But these are young trees and to be used as bonsai so I’m not sure. Especially the cypress since I have no experience whatsoever with them. The holly I’m not so intimidated by since I have some limited experience with them (like most things around here, you can hack them to bits any time of year and they’ll keep growing back... Yaupon Holly will anyway).

I just need a bit of direction to get me started.

Any advice is much appreciated.
Thanks

Attachments

• 5440039D-A780-4729-80E1-12942F3B5C15.jpeg
    5440039D-A780-4729-80E1-12942F3B5C15.jpeg
    382.2 KB · Views: 76

Oerc201

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone