Adenium (Desert Rose) Caudex & Bonsai Process

Rachael

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hello!

I would like to eventually take this double red adenium to the next level by expanding the caudex and to hopefully get some beautiful, fat side roots down at the bottom. The trunk tapers up at the top a bit too much for my liking.

I read that (in late spring) I could cut the roots flat at the bottom and dry it out.. then fix a flat piece at the bottom with wire to force roots to grow from the sides. Should I use a root growth hormone?

The scarring at the top is ugly to me... should I cut it off at the base of the scars and hope it sprouts more branches?

Also I'm worried because it looks like it may have had some grafting done to it. If I cut the top off I might lose whatever was grafted. Could I make anything grow from the scars? Are they even scars.. or eyes like a potato.. no clue. I've never worked with this plant before and I'm hoping for some insight.

My questions are...

Do you think there is a way to get rid of the scarring at the top from whoever hacked the hell out of it?

Can I force this to become similar to the reference picture?

Does anyone have suggestions on how to make it more appealing?

Thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_2560.JPG
    IMG_2560.JPG
    190.6 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_2694.JPG
    IMG_2694.JPG
    83.1 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_2575.JPG
    IMG_2575.JPG
    154 KB · Views: 71
  • IMG_3203.JPG
    IMG_3203.JPG
    149.9 KB · Views: 75
Last edited:

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Root growth hormone does more than just help roots grow.. It also helps shoots on top elongate. That might not be the effect you want.
I'm not familiar with this species of plant, but it's always good to take into account that auxins have multiple effects on 95% of all plant species.

Leo in N E Illinois

The Professor
Reaction score
on the IL-WI border, a mile from ''da Lake''
USDA Zone
5b