Advice and Opinions on New Trident Maple Purchase

miker

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6b
Hello everyone,

I am basically new to the Bonsai Nut forums, though I had officially signed up years ago. I have been working with trees for the past 18 years or so, with a few years off here and there. The past 5-7 years, I have essentially been trying to maintain the few trees I have, virtually all of which are pre-bonsai starter material in quality. During this most recent time, I have not really been active in learning and participating in forums, workshops, clubs or exhibitions. Just doing the basics such as repotting, trimming, daily care and rudimentary style work. One of my pre-bonsai, a live oak (Quercus virginiana) I have being training now for just under 10 years from a seedling. The first 6 years, I grew it out in the ground, pruning it each year in February just before the tree broke from dormancy. Since, it has been in a large black (~25-30 gallon) training pot, still just getting pruned once per year. This tree is just now getting to the point where I feel I can start doing some real work on it, so I will be asking for advice regarding it shortly.

I have 6 temperate tree species, that I have been applying bonsai techniques to and are anywhere from 6-15 years old. These trees spend 3-4 months in the refrigerator each year to provide proper dormancy (and as such are shohin to mame in size), since I am in the Orlando area. Additionally, I have 8 or so tropical species that I am training as bonsai, including a really nice ficus that I have been training for 15 years now (found it as a volunteer growing along a hedge in South Florida in 2001) as well as a buttonwood (Conocarpus erectus) I have had for 10 years now (I started once again becoming active in bonsai and acquiring trees in 2006), that was originally field collected from the FL Keys and features some attractive jin and shari.