advice and tips on where to begin

Rob625

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello. Im completely new to bonsai but very much want to get started. Before I buy a bonsai I wanted to get some books and read up first. So any recommendations would be great. I see on Amazon there is a lot of books. And then any tips on getting started would be great. I have no idea where to even begin. But I'm very excited. Ive been looking for a relaxing hobby for a while. Im a recovered alcoholic with 4 yrs sober and keeping busy with this would be perfect.
Thank you for any help getting started. Rob

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b

Rob625

Seedling
Reaction score
The best, most valuable reads for starting out are free and are the articles at evergreengardenworks.com. For artistic principles, Andy Rutledge's 'Artistic Foundations of Bonsai Design' is also free read. But, this is a participation sport --> get some trees.

Thank you! I definitely want to buy a tree but I didn't want to kill it or butcher it. I saw I can order a tree online starting at about 35$. Is it better to order online or do most nurseries carry bonsai. Like I said I know pretty much nothing about this. Some would say im "green". Pun intended. :)

Rob625

Seedling
Reaction score
I did some reading on evergreen garden works cite that you mentioned. I ordered a book he recommended Sunsets "Bonsai". Also if this forum is more for the advanced please let me know if I need to be on a beginner forum somewhere else. Thank you

Last edited:

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I did some reading on evergreen garden works cite that you mentioned. I ordered a book he recommended Sunsets "Bonsai". Also if this forum is more for the advanced please let me know if I need to be on a beginner forum somewhere else. Thank you

No man. You're in good hands where you're at. We're here to help one and all. Nobody's born knowing this stuff and you got to start somewhere right?

sharkman154

Seedling