Advice for achieving an instant "Old Oak" look?

The Oak

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi people, I am new to bonsai and have never shaped, pruned or wire-manipulated a tree in my life.
Of all the bonsai styles I like the "Old Oak" look the most (see pictures below) and I want to shape a nursery-bought tree in this style.
Now, thing is that I don't want to wait long years for the trunk to become thick, lol.
So how do I approach this then?

I read that Boxwood makes great oak-style bonsai trees. I do have access to relatively large Boxwood trees (40+ centimeters in height), but what bothers me is that Boxwood grows sooo slowly... Like I said, I don't want to wait long years after pruning for the tree to recover.
I can also get very tall (1,5 meter) conical Junipers and Thujas, but I am not sure if they can be turned into good looking Oak-style trees as their trunks are not thick enough and the trees themselves are also way too long and narrow.

So what would be the best approach here? Should I just go yamadori hunting and hope to find a stunted tree in the forest?
Any other commonly available species, other than Boxwood, that would give me an instant oak look?
Thanks!

1.jpg2.jpg4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg3.jpg

Bagels

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Nothing is going to give you an "instant" look unless it's an already established and trained bonsai that someone else has been working on. If you want to just buy something that already has the old oak styling like the ones in the pictures you linked, you'll have to pay for the time someone else took to create a tree in the state that you want to enjoy it. You can't just find a yamadori and turn it into an old oak style like the ones above. It's a process that takes years.