Advice for Red Maple Recently Air-layered

Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Would very much appreciate advice on choosing a leader for this recently grown air-layered red maple. I'm new to the art and chose this odd branch back in April because of the odd twisting fork. I didn't know any better (and probably still don't :)) so I figured it would be interesting in some way or other down the line. So, the air-layer took wonderfully and here I am late in the growing season with suckers popping up wondering where I should go next. I hope the pictures show accurately but the tree has a sacrifice branch at soil level (with a brand-new sucker next to it), then the trunk forks about three inches higher. There's clearly a primary leader but the other branch seems more interesting. I suspect I need to choose one or the other... and wonder if I should do that soon to initiate healing sooner rather than later.

Attachments

• 78ADDFA0-9463-496D-BDC6-0EBCB9DDCFFE_1_201_a.jpeg
    78ADDFA0-9463-496D-BDC6-0EBCB9DDCFFE_1_201_a.jpeg
    201.9 KB · Views: 150
  • 7085FEF3-B815-41C3-9CC3-1CF3250BDACA_1_201_a.jpeg
    7085FEF3-B815-41C3-9CC3-1CF3250BDACA_1_201_a.jpeg
    268.2 KB · Views: 141
  • 20B98F45-70D0-4B5C-A5A9-04ED0C0F8C6B_1_201_a.jpeg
    20B98F45-70D0-4B5C-A5A9-04ED0C0F8C6B_1_201_a.jpeg
    210.6 KB · Views: 125
  • 097B0255-5D17-4893-A5C9-ED00A615FC0D_1_201_a.jpeg
    097B0255-5D17-4893-A5C9-ED00A615FC0D_1_201_a.jpeg
    223.5 KB · Views: 112
  • 94A8F7E7-10BB-4558-B1B5-F83FEA5CE791_1_201_a.jpeg
    94A8F7E7-10BB-4558-B1B5-F83FEA5CE791_1_201_a.jpeg
    241.9 KB · Views: 108
  • D4AEED32-3DCE-40EE-9A7E-3EBFD6E6BFA0_1_201_a.jpeg
    D4AEED32-3DCE-40EE-9A7E-3EBFD6E6BFA0_1_201_a.jpeg
    199.6 KB · Views: 137

MHBonsai

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
Wise words from Zach. I have lost air layers the next year from working too quickly.