Advice for Vine Maple (Acer Circinatum)

Sir_Nixon

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Hello,

This is my first year as a bonsai enthusiast and the proud owner of some very cool and fun specimens. I have recently acquired a 40 year old Vine maple (Acer Circinatum) that I have some questions about the pruning and development of. The previous owner has left the branches to become quite long and I am wanting to condense the branching. With this being my first, and old, deciduous tree, I am hesitant to start trimming branches in fear of killing or ruining the tree. If I was to rough shape/trim the tree and cut some old branches, will it bud back to re-develop the branching structure?

Due to the last repotting done in 2013, I was also thinking of just repotting in the early spring and allowing the tree to gain vigor before even thinking about trimming branches in a year or so. Any thoughts? I appreciate your time in helping me. I have attached some pictures for reference.

Attachments

• IMG_1187 copy.jpg
    IMG_1187 copy.jpg
    244.9 KB · Views: 129
  • IMG_1189.jpg
    IMG_1189.jpg
    313.4 KB · Views: 127
  • IMG_1187.jpg
    IMG_1187.jpg
    248.7 KB · Views: 105
  • IMG_1188.jpg
    IMG_1188.jpg
    158.1 KB · Views: 110

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
They are very similar to Japanese maples both biologically and with respect to bonsai horticulture.

I'm guessing this means nothing to you. So, you can cut back to a visible bud now. Often times one can cut back further, but sometimes the branch will die back to another node or die altogether. Likewise, you can do this in spring as the buds begin to swell. Of course, cut back is per you desires for shape and structure - if you don't want to cut that far back, don't; just don't cut further than a visible bud even if you want to cut further.