advice on collecting a japanese maple from my garden

adamc

Seed
Reaction score
I was given a Japanese Maple when I bought my first house a few years ago. It was a small (and expensive!) little thing, but I planted it in my garden, watered, fertilized etc. It grew quite nicely, though it tends to get burned a little every summer (I planted it in direct, unfiltered sun...oops). Last year I began pruning it carefully, trying to follow some of the instructions I have read about on here and other sources, trying to inch it towards an eventual bonsai-type material. It was getting a little leggy, so I gave it a shot. I haven't done anything drastic, because I am not very experienced yet. Just tried to get my feet wet. I managed to prune it back nicely, all while maintaining the look I wanted for my front yard.

I am going to be moving in the next few months. I would LOVE to take the tree with me. The base is thickening up nicely and I have been working branches lower and lower on the trunk. There are a few within the first 6 or 8 nches. Obviously it is still big up top. I know I have a long way to go towards a bonsai, and I may never decide to start training it. All I know is I want to keep it.

Can someone direct me, or at least give me some advice about transplanting the maple out of the ground, into a (large?) pot, and across the country? I am in SE Georgia now, and moving to Massachusetts. I am worried winter isn't the best time, but I don't think I have a choice.

I will post a picture a little later.

Thanks in advance, everyone.

Dav4

Drop Branch Murphy
Reaction score
SE MI- Bonsai'd for 12 years both MA and N GA
USDA Zone
6a