Advice on collecting live oak

Reaction score
Does anyone have any experience collecting scrub oak here in Texas? Rockm?
Can it be collected in one dig? After care? Should they be barerooted or do I try to keep the rootball soil intact?
I have heard they are hard to keep alive and wondering if they need a long term plan to collect.
I have had a lot of really good experience digging cedar elm and wondering how much different live oak would be?

Zach Smith

Omono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Does anyone have any experience collecting scrub oak here in Texas? Rockm?
Can it be collected in one dig? After care? Should they be barerooted or do I try to keep the rootball soil intact?
I have heard they are hard to keep alive and wondering if they need a long term plan to collect.
I have had a lot of really good experience digging cedar elm and wondering how much different live oak would be?
Cedar elm vs live oak = day vs night. I have never had good luck collecting live oak, though once containerized they grow like crazy and take a lot of abuse (tried my best to kill one this year and failed). Maybe others will add their experience to this thread.

I've been told it's best to collect in early spring as the leaves are changing out. This sounds reasonable, but I can't comment from personal experience.

Zach

Poink88

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Cedar elm vs live oak = day vs night. I have never had good luck collecting live oak, though once containerized they grow like crazy and take a lot of abuse (tried my best to kill one this year and failed). Maybe others will add their experience to this thread.

I've been told it's best to collect in early spring as the leaves are changing out. This sounds reasonable, but I can't comment from personal experience.

Zach

I have no experience collecting live oak but I will ask around and let you know what I learn. What I read is similar to Zach's comment above.