Advice on direction of JBP

Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hello everyone! I am very new to bonsai but have been a voracious consumer of as much bonsai knowledge as possible. The best advice I am trying to follow is "Go get your hands dirty!". So that is what I have been doing. I bought a Japanese Black Pine nursery tree which had been left to grow wild. I took a stab at pruning, shaping and wiring and was looking for feedback on the form or direction you think this tree is capable of going. I know my wiring is horrendous (it was the first time i have ever wired a tree) so please be gentle. My sense is that some of the branches are kind of leggy but they are growing on me (no pun intended) and am wondering what more seasoned eyes see in this tree. I think I found the best front but am also curious what others think.

Thank you all in advance for your input! And this forum is awesome. I am very glad I found this place!

This is what the tree looked like when I got it:
IMG_20190317_110008.jpg

Front(?):
IMG_20190401_122548.jpg

Other sides
IMG_20190401_122601.jpgIMG_20190401_122617.jpgIMG_20190401_122631.jpg

RobertB

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
First I would get a ficus to practice wiring on. Or even landscape trees around you. Hell, even broken limbs. I think wiring JBP FOR A BEGINNER IS HARD. You probably damaged many of the needles in the process. I would water very carefully and let it grow hard for a season then reassess next year want you want to accomplish with the tree. Meanwhile, learn as much as you can about Japanese black pine. I suggest bonsai tonight.com as a starting reference. Tons of info there. Just don't do anything on for a while. Also suggest bring to a local club and jointing. Try and find someone experienced with JBP TO HELP YOU!

Adair M

Pinus Envy
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a