Advice on this little white pine...repot?

matcha_bonsai

Sapling
Reaction score
Should I repot this little guy into a slightly larger pot? Any advice on what I should do with this little guy? I jut got it and I'm new to bonsai.

1581213608337.jpg

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Welcome to bonsai.
Changing pots depends what your aim is - maintain a small bonsai or grow a larger tree?
I think that pot is adequate for the tree now but I think the tree could have a bit taken out of the top as it looks a bit thick up there and a bit top heavy. That would help to balance the tree and current pot.
If you want to grow a larger pine bonsai then it will need a larger pot.

I think it is incongruous that you are in Japan but asking outsiders for advice on bonsaio_O

BTW It does not really look like a white pine in the photo. Maybe a black pine? a closer look at the leaves would tell the difference. White pine has bunches of 5 blueish needles. Black pine has needles in pairs and darker green.

matcha_bonsai

Sapling
Reaction score
It's Shikoku Goyomatsu... which is white pine, correct?

I think I want to grow it larger... so yes, a larger pot would be necessary -- right?

And I'm asking here because I dont speak Japanese fluently haha :p

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
And I'm asking here because I dont speak Japanese fluently haha :p
Now I understand - Just seems funny when I read the initial post - someone from Tokyo needs to ask about bonsai?????

The new photo shows a different colour so much more like white pine and, yes, goyomatsu is white pine.
I think it is a little too top heavy for the current height and trunk thickness. Bonsai is all about proportion. Trying to grow something that looks like a natural old tree. So far this one is tall and skinny with a big cluster of foliage near the top. If you wanted to keep this tree as a small bonsai the top would need to be reduced.