Advice on very old Azalea bush

Unearthed

Seed
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have this Azalea bush in my yard that I believe has a lot of potential to be a very unique, old bonsai with a few years of rehab. I live in 5b, but this bush is planted right next to the house in a brick built-in garden box... been here long before I bought the house. I think due to it slightly being outside its hardiness zone, but getting just enough warmth from the house... it's survived all this time, but has a LOT of deadwood throughout. Many of the branches only have a small live vein through it... and this year it's looking extra-sad (had a couple brutal winters past few years). To save it/potentially get a beautiful bonsai out of it... I want to try and dig it up/prune/repot, and maybe move it to a cold frame for the winter to establish some new roots before dormancy.

However... as I'm still fairly new to this world of bonsai... I wanted to get some help from some more experienced people (so I don't kill it! I'm really excited about this one!).

A few questions I had:
1. Do you think now's the time for any sort of movement? or should I try and overwinter it in-place and work with it next Spring?
2. If keeping it in-place, what sort of steps/prep should I do to ensure its survival through another brutal New Hampshire winter?
3. If repotting, should I got with 100% Kanuma? a mix? and I'm guessing I shouldn't do much root pruning until it's healthier & just use a larger pot?
4. How much should I prune it, when the time comes? I want to have decent amount of deadwood for jin/shari fun, but it's pretty bramble-y at the moment. Worried about not enough back-budding.
5. Best guess - how old might ya think this is based on size/trunk diameter?
6. Any other tips/suggestions to help get this tree into a pot & on its way to bonsai would be MUCH appreciated! :)

Thanks,
Jeff

Attachments

• 20221023_102808.jpg
    20221023_102808.jpg
    287.4 KB · Views: 43
  • 20221023_102753.jpg