advice wanted to thicken trunk - no outdoor soil available

ward0

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hello,

i'm new to bonsai and i have 2 trees that i want to thicken the trunk of . People advice me to put them in 20x20x6 pots to grow for a couple of years. and let everything grow until end of summer. Is this the correct way to go?

Can i just repot them in akadema with grint ? Or do i need other combination?

I live in Europe btw , so i can't place them outdoors yet :( maybe in hot summer.

What should i do to the branches to thicken the trunk? Cut them ?

Thanks in advance,

Attachments

• 2015-01-15 00.39.00.jpg
    2015-01-15 00.39.00.jpg
    168.4 KB · Views: 142
  • 2015-01-15 00.39.14.jpg
    2015-01-15 00.39.14.jpg
    179.9 KB · Views: 108
  • 2015-01-15 00.39.25.jpg
    2015-01-15 00.39.25.jpg
    176.5 KB · Views: 106
D

Deleted member 17828

Welcome!

it shouldn't really matter what substrate you use to repot your trees, as long as the trees are being provided with enough nutrients, water, and the roots do not rot. (from over watering)

To thicken certain parts of the tree, in your case the trunk, you would want to let the leading branch grow long, and then when the trunk has thickened to your satisfaction, you can chop the long leading branch back to where you want it.

Since trunk size really only increases when the tree gets taller, this process could take some time. In the meanwhile, don't expect your trees to as best as they could, mainly just let them grow.

ward0

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Welcome!

it shouldn't really matter what substrate you use to repot your trees, as long as the trees are being provided with enough nutrients, water, and the roots do not rot. (from over watering)

To thicken certain parts of the tree, in your case the trunk, you would want to let the leading branch grow long, and then when the trunk has thickened to your satisfaction, you can chop the long leading branch back to where you want it.