Advise on plant type for a vertical multi-potted arrangement

Designbydalton

Seedling
Reaction score
Hello,

I just recently designed a set of modular hanging planters that I believe would make a very intriguing bonsai. I am new and could use some advise. My plan is to have a plant that "hops" from pot to pot, starting in the top pot and dipping into the arranged pots below, rooting in each. What I'm looking for is some advise on a type of plant suitable for my planter strategy. I am new to bonsai so I don't have any experience tending to roots but I have lots of experience gardening and with indoor potted plants.

Here are some pictures of my new planter pots, I'm calling them Mod Pods. They interlock to create a unique arrangement and I can continuously add more as the plant gets bigger. They are a prototype that I 3D printed in a very strong Nylon Plastic. Any feed back on their design would be much appreciated. I will take all of your suggestions seriously as I am here to both research technique and improve my design.

mod_pods_planted_by_designbydalton-d787fcu.jpg

674x501_1606767_2089167_1391144225.jpg

674x501_1606767_2089166_1391144225.jpg

674x501_1606767_2089100_1391144225.jpg

674x501_1606767_2089101_1391144225.jpg

Thanks for your help!

Last edited:

M. Frary

Bonsai Godzilla
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Some kind of ivy or maybe philodenderon? I just don't know about trees going in those.

aphid

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Small bromeliads, air plants, and orchids could work in those. Basically plants that naturally grow in little pockets on other trees.

Bonsai Nut

Nuttier than your average Nut
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8a
Spider plant would be a natural for cascading growth. Not sure it would be look very much like a bonsai, but it would still be cool!

Growing UP you could do a vine or ivy. Best "tree" I can think of that might work would be a creeping fig.