Afghan Pine or Pinus Eldarica

sokrkids

Seed
Reaction score
Has anyone tried to create a bonsai of this tree? I am new to the art of bonsai. I picked this tree from the local nursery trimmed it and potted in a growing pot a year ago. The plant looks scraggly with brown needle tips but si growing with lots of back budding. Any tips on care would be greatly appreciated. I live in Phoenix AZ.

milehigh_7

Mister 500,000
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hot
You might want to get well acquainted with the Phoenix Bonsai Club and their website. They have a pretty nice plant list and some basic instructions. Eldarica is on this page: http://www.phoenixbonsai.com/PPlants3.html#GroupIII

You might have better luck with Aleppo and they have shorter needles. All that said you can do great things with Bougainvillea, Olive, Pomegranate, Vitex and a few others. Remember, shade cloth is your friend.

grouper52

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
There's another name for it as well, but it eludes me.

I brought a 2" one back in my suitcase from a Phoenix landscaping nursery about six years ago when I was there for some training. I put it in the ground here in my "pine garden" - a completely different climate here than it is used to - and it has done fairly well except that it hasn't budded very far back onto old wood, and looks a bit straggly - nothing insurmountable though. It has thickened up nicely (about 5" now) and might be going into a grow pot/box in a year or two. Fair nebari. Rather uninteresting bark at this stage - it may mature nicely - we'll see. The needles are a bit longer and more delicate looking than I like, but some experimenting with training & pruning techniques may help with that.

My thoughts are that a tree used to harsh climates will more often do well in a cushy climate than vice versa, and this is one example.

rock

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Has anyone tried to create a bonsai of this tree?

sure ...lot of times