Aftercare Forest Structure Styling or Maintenance?

thatguy

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
Hello all!

Relative newbie here, but doing a lot of research and learning. Making mistakes fast as they say but trying to gather up as much knowledge as possible. Going to be attempting two forest plantings one with trident maples and one with Japanese maples (both roughly 2yr old seedlings). There is a fair amount of information out there on how to create the initial design/planting. Both in blog form, videos, and also in the excellent book Forest, Rock, and Ezo Spruce Bonsai by Saburo Kato. One piece of the puzzle I don't have yet is after the planting occurs and when new growth happens...how do you prune for optimal shape?

The basics of removing crossing branches, keeping the interior branches to a minimum, exterior trees get exterior branches makes sense to me. But I've yet to see any solid progression or maintenance discussions on these forest plantings 1, 2, 3+ years along. How to ensure that the growth is in the optimal direction, getting branch taper and movement, etc. Maybe this is something I'll have to learn and experiment with myself which is fine! But I always appreciate a little leg up when I can! ;)

Thanks in advance for the help! This site has already been a great source of knowledge.

Cheers
thatguy

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Basic group pruning is much the same as for other trees. Pruning causes new buds to grow into new shoots which creates ramification. Prune back to suitable buds which will mean the new shoots grow in the desired direction is a fundamental pruning skill in bonsai, garden, orchard or landscape. Then prune or wire to get the correct direction and prune to remove shoots in the wrong spots.
I often hedge prune my groups and multi trunk trees but I also check regularly for wayward shoots that grow up through the branches. Leaving some of those on all summer can unduly thicken the wrong branches.