Air layer started to drop leaves after 2 days

xisbi

Sapling
Reaction score
hi

I am new to air layering and could use some help. I air layered a meyer lemon tree and within a day the leaves of the air layered part started to fall. Did I remove too much when I was removing the bark of the branch? the new growth that was on the branch before the air layer so far kept their leaves but all the flowers and other leaves fall off.

thanks in advance

xisbi

Sapling
Reaction score
I didn't harvest it at all it is only 2 days since I started the air layer. The branch is still attached to the tree

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
I didn't harvest it at all it is only 2 days since I started the air layer. The branch is still attached to the tree
Oh, I see. That is strange, ... so immediate and effect. If it is still attached to the tree, we should be able to say that the xylem is still continuous and the stem you are trying to layer should still be getting water.
A pic would help a lot.

Nothing has happened in the way of making roots in such a short time, so, I recommend that you remove the rooting media you have around the girdle and take a pic, post it, and then you may get some useful guidance.

xisbi

Sapling
Reaction score
Thanks. I removed the skin(bark) and tried to scrape hard to remove the cambium and might have removed some of the hardwood not sure could that stop water flow to the leaves? It is hard to tell with lemon tree what is cambium or wood. I will take pictures and post when I get home.

choppychoppy

Chumono
Reaction score
Thanks. I removed the skin(bark) and tried to scrape hard to remove the cambium and might have removed some of the hardwood not sure could that stop water flow to the leaves? It is hard to tell with lemon tree what is cambium or wood. I will take pictures and post when I get home.

If you can't tell how far to scrape then the branch is probably too thin to layer and you've killed it. Picture please.

Johnnyd