Air layer with shari?

JackHammer

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b
I have a bunch of juniper bushed in my yard and several of them are quite old. One in particular has a shari mid trunk that I think would make a good bonsai. But, air layering could be difficult. Has anyone ever done air layering with a shari in the trunk? How did it go?

ShadyStump

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
I never have, but wanted to comment that this is a VERY interesting and special circumstance for layering of any sort. I'm not sure if you would need to get between the live vein and the shari to avoid a significant part of the new tree dying off, and/or just making more shari. I'm fairly new to the game, but I understand junipers are quite good at compartmentalizing their growth.

Can you get us some pics?

I'll speculate that, if it's close enough to the ground, ground layering may be a better idea. Junipers often essentially self ground layer routinely, so it might yield better results by following the tree's natural tendency as it were. Even if it works, building good nebari will be a long term project afterward.

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
You can layer a branch/trunk with dead wood. Only the live portion of the trunk can grow roots but it should do that just as well as a trunk without dead wood.

Vali

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I am doing it. It's as easy as any other airlayer. You have less work to do. Maybe you should pay more attention to eliminate the cambium where the live and dead tissues meet. It will root normally

JackHammer

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
5b