Air layered palmatum

Bnana

Chumono
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I made an air layer from a Japanese maple in my garden. It worked well and the layer had a good start with plenty of roots.
Now the question arises how to develop it. I have no experience with maples. I removed some large branches when I separated it, that's obvious I guess. The trunk has a 4.5 cm diameter.
It doesn't have a lot of movement but it has taper. So I'm thinking about a fat little upright that can develop a nice crown and nebari over the coming years.

But now how and where to cut? Leave the two lower branches to fasten the trunk and cut them back later? Where should I chop?
Hoping for some input from people with a better trained eye.
The ugly wire is just to keep it stable after removing it from the tree.

IMG_20201014_165010.jpgIMG_20201014_164934.jpgIMG_20201014_164927.jpgIMG_20201014_164920.jpgIMG_20201014_164910.jpg

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
There are lots of options. The principle one I see is to chop the trunk down to those two lowest branches. This would eliminate that big wound you have covered with Al foil, but would leave you with 'healing' over the big chop that could take 5 to 10 years to be completed. To get that to happen asap you will need to just let those branches run each season. However, one of the branches will be the trunk and the other the lowest and heaviest branch which means the adventure for the foreseeable future would be managing the growth of these two stems each season - except for repotting every couple of years to develop the nebari.