Air layering horse chestnut

mrt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Hi all
I would like to try a horse chestnut as a bonsai.
My neighbour has a nice tree, and I asked him for permission to take cuttings or try air layering. He is fine with that so I would like to try it. Especially the air layering because it would allow to get quickly a nice trunk.

I did some research about it and found the horse chestnut can be air layered, but I am still not 100% sure. Will it work if done properly?
when is the best time? I have never tried that before. I would guess that starting in spring (early march?) is probably good. Any hints?

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Horse chestnut is thicker than your thumb in a single year from seed. Pretty easy to grow.

Cuttings and air layers are hard to establish. I have tried a bunch, but none of them ever took root enough to survive.

mrt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
so you would indeed recommend growing one from seed? normally I thoight this is impractical for bonsai.

Wires_Guy_wires

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
Yes, I would recommend growing one from seed.
It's only impractical if air layers would be faster, but since those are difficult and even more impractical.. I'd go with seed.

They seem to be able to bud on wood without nodes, so you can basically cut back to wherever you'd like to get movement. The wood breaks easily when wired.

Horse chestnut in general is a very impractical species for bonsai due to its coarse growth and huge leaves.

0soyoung

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b

mrt

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I agree!

But keep them small and the leaves will be small. View attachment 422386 View attachment 422380
awwww how cute!

I have a large bonsai book where hundreds of species are covered, and the horse chestnut is also shown in there. It mentions that they are usable for bonsai, but more for a bit larger ones.
Did you grow yours from seed? and how long did it take?