Air Layering Middle Section

Nishant

Shohin
Reaction score
Hello Friends,

I am new to air layering and need some advise/suggestions. Thanks in advance for this.

I am planning to air layer a few thick stems of Privet and Pyracantha Trees. The sections that I would like to make a bonsai of is somewhere in the middle where there are no leaves. I am really after the thicker sections of stem. :). Just being too impatient.

So my question is

(a) Will the new leaves emerge on the stems if I harvested the stem with the newly formed roots but no leaves.
(b) Or should I instead cut the stems on top after the root has formed, let the leaves emerge and then harvest the stem with the newly formed roots & leaves.
(c) Any other advise.

Regards.

BrianBay9

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Add some indication of your location and people will be able to give you more specific advice.

Success of your air layer depends on having leaves above the level where you want the roots. The photosynthetic products from the leaves move down the stem and stimulate roots where you have removed the cambium. If it were me, I'd leave most of the top of the plant (within reason) after harvesting the air layer, and leave it alone for a growing season to strengthen the roots after they are detached from the mother plant. Then you can reduce the trunk according to your vision for the tree.

The good news is both the pyracantha and privet are very aggressive growers and should air layer easily. I've done five pyracantha from one mother plant this season alone. Both will develop new leaves/branches on a bare trunk later if they have good roots to work with.

Good luck!
Brian

Nishant

Shohin
Reaction score
Many Thanks Brian for reply. I live in London. Apologies I did not mention this. How long can it take to produce roots.

Last edited:

BrianBay9

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone