Airlayering followed by Trunk Chop ?

Oldbeeza

Seed
Reaction score
Hi I am new to this and this is my entirely new post experience, my experience with bonsai started almost three years ago.My question is in relation to air layering / trunk chop, and timing, it’s probably very obvious to more experienced people but I need to know . Can a trunk chop be preformed at the completion of air layering (considering the timing overlap of the two processes) Any help appreciated . I intend performing the same process on both a liquidambar and a bald cypress

Cajunrider

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9A
If you started bonsai three years ago, you got 2.5 years more experience than I do.

In about 3-4 weeks when the leaves start to come out, I will harvest an air layer out of my Bald Cypress. Depending on how healthy the leaves and branches below the air layer are, I will decide whether I'll cut it way lower or leave it be for another year.

I did the same thing on two green island ficus a few months ago. I air-layered them and trunk chopped afterward and was successful on both so now I have 4 with roughly the same size trunks that I started out. They are all healthy and growing now. The air layered tops are super healthy and grow like crazy. The trunk chops are just now started to grow. It took them two months before I get new shoots out of the remaining stumps.

Lou T

Mame
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9a