Alaska fish fertilizer & cakes?

Reaction score
Portland, Oregon, United States of America
USDA Zone
9b
I'm in my first year of this silly business and am trying to get some fertilizer game going on. I think in April I started off putting some biogold in all my pots, then in June I added some Sumo 'Acid Lover's' cakes. I have mostly satsukis, junipers & Japanese maples.
I've heard good things about using fish and kelp liquid fert so thought I would work that into my regimen. I got a bottle of Alaska Fish Fertilizer 5-1-1. My question is what dilution rates do other ppl use?
I think I read to use a table spoon diluted in a gallon of water once a week for junipers.
Since I'm using all organic ferts does it really matter that much?
Am I ok using this for all my trees?
Did I get the wrong shit?

1625552661043.png

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
The trees don't care what fertilizer you give them. None of mine can read. They are only interested in the nutrients and all fertilizers have nutrients.
Most fertilizers have a range of micro nutrients as well as the big 3 but I think it is good to use a variety so what one lacks will hopefully be supplied by one of the others.
This is another of the products with a bewildering array of different concentrations for different plants. The closest looks like indoor plants as they are also potted plants so 2 teaspoons per quart every 2 weeks should be a reasonable rate for your bonsai.
I suspect they, like most other companies, are conservative in their mixes to allow for unforseen possibilities. Also being organic based tends to be lower concentration so even using the 'tree' concentration - 4tbsp/gall - on bonsai would probably be OK but You do need to remember that any unused cakes would still be providing additional nutrients. It is possible to overdose so best to start conservatively and work up if you really want to feed for maximum growth.

Brian Van Fleet

Pretty Fly for a Bonsai Guy
Reaction score