Am i doing good with this repotted Maple ?

IIppon

Sapling
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I repotted this maple from a little bonsai nursery here in Thailand.
First I would like to know if this period on the year isn't too bad for repotting a maple, the best time to repot a Maple seems to be a bit tricky and even tho I am in the Northern emisphere, seasons here are quite specials.

After having repotted it I sent a pic the the nursery and the guy told me that I should takes of all the leaves. I am a complete beginner and I don't know if I did well to cut them off but he was specialize in Maple so I decided to follow ilhis advice.

And other question is that I've seen that after repotting and trimming the tree should be place in a place with no wind. Unfortunately I don't have that much space on my balcony so I decided to put it here to leave more oxygen under the pot and to cover it from the wind I put a sealed bag on it, is it a good idea ?

Last question does it need sun or not especially? I don't know if the place after repotting is essential or not really and should I put it a warm or more cool place (here it Is about 34°c outside and about 25°c inside), in a very sunny or more shady place and should I sprayed water on the trunksl and brushes or leave it dry ?

Thank you for your help

I gave you some pictures before and after

Attachments

• 20210521_200123.jpg
    20210521_200123.jpg
    126.2 KB · Views: 105
  • 20210523_135529.jpg
    20210523_135529.jpg
    166.7 KB · Views: 113

Shibui

Imperial Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
9?
Very few of us will have experience of growing Japanese maple in tropical area. @Clicio may be able to add useful tips from Brazil.
I think your expert has good advice to take leaves off after repot. We usually repot when the maples is dormant in winter when it has no leaves naturally so very few have ever done maples when they have leaves.