Am I going to kill this tree? First Styling attempt. Please offer Critiques!

JP740

Seedling
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am brand new to Bonsai and there was this little pine in my back yard that I found and worked on. I would love some feedback! Not sure what kind of pine it is, I think maybe a Virginia pine? I live in Northeastern Ohio. When I dug up the tree I found that the root was much cooler then I had expected! I got really excited and shot from the hip, but now I am questioning that decision.

My biggest concern is that I don't want to kill the tree. Is my shaping too agressive? Am I trying too hard/shaping/bending too much?

My second biggest concern/question is whether I made the tree way too big. Should I cut the tree back? It seems like this tree would have to be 30 years older to grow into that shape/sizing (which I also don't mind). I was styling it off of a tree that I saw at Phipps Conservatory in Pittsburgh. I was trying to go for an overall triangular shape with a few different pads of leaves. Any help, recommendations or suggestions would be much appreciated.

The first photo is a close up of the root which I think is cool!
tempImagegLmLCB.png

tempImageYVWgLO.png
door for scale
tempImagecVRmmA.png

I had thought about chopping at 1 & at 2, I also was not quite sure what to do here with these four branches. Im guessing that I should have Chopped some or styled differently but any suggestions for branches a, b, c, or d, would be much appreciated.
tempImagesDVCyd.png
Finally, unfortunately this is the only before picture that I got, so I thought I would include it as well. I think I may have been a bit fool hardy on this tree, so any suggestions about the process would be welcomed as well. Thank you All!

tempImagewc1aCU.png

sorce

Nonsense Rascal
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I reckon you'd be safe to chop it in about 3 years with like a 20% chance of getting useful low trunk buds.