Am I headed in the right direction on this JPM?

Relic37

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I've been growing this JPM in a pot for 6-7 years, just kinda letting it fatten up the base and spread its roots. I've just sawed off the two large branches that were low and feeding the base. The top was cut off, too. I was considering repotting it into a smaller pot and trimming off some of the roots next month. I also thought I would now try to let the mid and upper portion start growing some "keeper" branches. What should I focus on this year?

Attachments

• IMG_3001.jpeg
    IMG_3001.jpeg
    342.8 KB · Views: 140

dbonsaiw

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7b
I'll start off with the regular comments. First, post your location - this will allow people to give you accurate advice. Second, what are you looking for as far as a finished tree is concerned? If you are happy with the girth and shape of the trunk, then start growing those keeper branches. If you want it fatter, then there's more growing in your future. Looking for low movement? Well that will require a chop. Tell us what you want. Otherwise, you will just get answers from people assuming what you want and answering based off that or simply telling you what they would do with the tree at this point based upon an end product they arent necessarily telling you about.

Relic37

Yamadori
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a