American Larch pruning

Cabin Fever

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
I’m new to bonsai and have started picking up some pre bonsai materials from the local nurseries.
I bought this American Larch (Tamarack) yesterday and after getting it home, I’m thinking about going back
for a few more. They seem to have decent trunks and I’m thinking about creating a forest or group.

This one is 28” high so I’m not sure how far to cut it back if any and what to do with the bigger side branch.
Any tips or suggestions welcomed.
Thanks,
Bryan

Attachments

• 36399296-EB34-4524-BFDC-49CB10DE1F45.jpeg
    36399296-EB34-4524-BFDC-49CB10DE1F45.jpeg
    412.8 KB · Views: 85
  • C2CA97F9-5404-497C-BA2A-6AF9F2DAED19.jpeg
    C2CA97F9-5404-497C-BA2A-6AF9F2DAED19.jpeg
    315.6 KB · Views: 83
Last edited:

GGB

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
7a
I friggin' love em! they don't back bud so be really carefull about what material you select. I have never tried, or considered trying, them from seed, it'd be a long hike but probably fun(ish). you can leave them outside unmulched all winter and they actually enjoy it. I'm not experienced enough to offer help with this tree, other than eliminating the lower branch would make it a good candidate for a forest grouping.

Cabin Fever

Seedling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
Being new to bonsai my initial thought when I bought this tree was to maybe wire the large side branch
in a more upright position to create a double trunk but really have no idea if this should be considered..

I would like to shorten it but not sure how much yet.

leatherback

The Treedeemer
Reaction score
USDA Zone
. I have never tried, or considered trying, them from seed, it'd be a long hike but probably fun(ish).
The plant here is probably 4 or so years from seed. So not long process.

For this tree, i would think you need a bit more trunk on it? So maybe give some shape and let it grow out?

Corrado

Mame
Reaction score