An absolute beginner

pnwnovice

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Early summer of 2019 my wife and I were able to purchase our first house (on the Olympic Peninsula of Washington state) and move out of our apartment. Ever since then I've been bringing home seeds, seedlings, and cuttings left and right now that I have my own space to actually grow something. As I am a complete beginner and am more than likely to kill many trees I am trying to keep it as cheap as possible by collecting native species growing on my client's properties. These are a few of the larger specimens I was able to bring back that I want to practice on.

First is a Red Alder (Alnus rubra) that I saved from being mowed over again for the umpteenth time in a ditch. It was a spaghetti mess of thick branches that didn't look very good so I cut most of them back. The trunk already has begun back budding so I'm hoping to get some nice new branches to play with.20200207_143856.jpg20200207_143925.jpg

pnwnovice

Sapling
Reaction score
USDA Zone
8b
Next is another Red Alder that was growing on a client's drain field so it need to be taken out. Figured I'd try giving it a second lease on life. My plan is it to chop that spindly second trunk off soon. But since I already chopped a third trunk off already I wanted to give it a chance to recover a bit first (not sure if that was necessary but figured I'd rather safe than sorry).20200207_144333.jpg20200207_144302.jpg

Tieball

Masterpiece
Reaction score
USDA Zone
6a
Nice tree material. Your expectation, of yourself now, is keeping it healthy. I think you’ve found a nice start In all of those trees. I see you’re also versed on leaving the tree collar in place when cutting off a branch....it took some time for me to learn that. I especially like that first photo....lots of potential right away.